There are 32 Counties within the GAA, divided into four provinces (Leinster – 12 Counties, Ulster – 9 Counties, Munster – 6 Counties, and Connacht – 5 Counties). Each has its own Provincial Championship as well as the 32 County Championships.

There are also 7 Counties in Britain GAA, 7 as part of World GAA, and then there is also the Gaeltacht All-Ireland, featuring teams from the 7 Gaeltacht (Irish-speaking) Areas, and GAA Sevens and Elevens which is intended to introduce Hurling to areas that are not Traditional GAA areas, such as Kilmacud in Co. Dublin (now part of Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown County Borough) and Co. Fingal (North Co. Dublin)

Connacht GAA Crest

Picture Credit: Connacht GAA (2021) connacht-crest [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 14 March 2021]

Connacht GAA

Containing Counties Galway, Mayo, Roscommon, Sligo, Leitrim

Leinster GAA Crest

Picture Credit: [4] Leinster GAA | Twitter (2019) Leinster GAA Profile Image [Internet] Available from: 11 December 2019]

Leinster GAA

Containing Counties Dublin, Kildare, Louth. Longford, Meath, Westmeath, Offaly, Laois, Carlow, Kilkenny, Wicklow and Wexford

June 22nd, 2019, Cork, Ireland – Liberty Insurance Camogie Senior Championship: Cork vs Tipperary

Picture Credit: [4] Shutterstock / Photo by D. Ribeiro (2019) June 22nd, 2019, Cork, Ireland – Liberty Insurance Camogie Senior Championship: Cork vs Tipperary [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 2 June 2021]

Munster GAA

Containing Counties Cork, Kerry, Clare, Limerick, Tipperary, Waterford

Antrim GAA Crest

Ulster GAA

Containing Counties Antrim, Down, Armagh, Tyrone, Derry, Fermanagh, Donegal, Cavan, Monaghan

Tailteann Games Programme

[1] Folklore of Ireland Twitter Account (2020) DIREGG9W4AEGN3Q [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 11 November 2020]

GAA Internationals

Internationals were first played during the Tailtean Games from 1924-1932 and more recently between countries such as India v Qatar, Galicia v France, Italy v France

Britain GAA Crest

Picture Credit: [1] Britain GAA (2019) default_img_03-300×187 [Internet] Available from:×187.png [Accessed 23 August 2020]

Britain GAA

Containing Counties London, Warwickshire, Lancashire, Yorkshire, Hertfordshire, Gloucestershire, Scotland

GAA World Games 2016 logo

[1] Ladies Gaelic Football Association (2016) World-Games [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 12 November 2020]

World GAA

Containing Counties New York, United States, Canada, Australasia, Europe, Asia, Middle East with Development in Africa, Argentina, Caribbean, Arctic.

Gaeltacht GAA Champions Naomh Chonaill (2016)

Picture Credit: [9] Irish Examiner (2016) Donegal’s Naomh Conaill retained their Comortas Peile na Gaeltachta title after beating An Ghaeltacht of Kerry in the final. [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 20 August 2020]

Gaeltacht GAA

Modern GAA Logo

[1] Donegal Daily (2017) GAA Logo [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 2 December 2017]

GAA Sevens / Elevens

Including Kilmacud Sevens