GAA Poc Fada Hurling All-Ireland Championships Roll of Honour 1961-Present

GAA Poc Fada Logo [Reference: 2]

Roll of Honour 1961-2017

1961Vincent GodfreyLimerick
1962Ollie WalshKilkenny
1963 (co)Ollie WalshKilkenny
1963 (co)Tom GearyWaterford
1963 (co)Dinny DonnellyMeath
1964Oliver GoughKilkenny
1965Denis MurphyCork
1966Finbar O’NeillCork
1967Finbar O’NeillCork
1968Finbar O’NeillCork
1969Liam TobinWaterford
1970-80No competition
1981Pat HartiganLimerick
1982Gerry GoodwinTyrone
1983Pat HartiganLimerick
1984Ger CunninghamCork
1985Ger CunninghamCork
1986Ger CunninghamCork
1987Ger CunninghamCork
1988Ger CunninghamCork
1989Ger CunninghamCork
1990Ger CunninghamCork
1991Tommy QuaidLimerick
1992Albert KellyOffaly
1993Albert KellyOffaly
1994Michael ShaughnessyGalway
1995Michael ShaughnessyGalway
1996Michael ShaughnessyGalway
1997Colin ByrneWicklow
1998Albert KellyOffaly
1999Davy FitzgeraldClare
2000Colin ByrneWicklow
2001Albert ShanahanLimerick
2002Davy FitzgeraldClare
2003Paul DunneLouth
2004Brendan CumminsTipperary
2005Albert ShanahanLimerick
2006Brendan CumminsTipperary
2007Brendan CumminsTipperary
2008Brendan CumminsTipperary
2009Gerry FallonRoscommon
2010Graham ClarkeDown
2011Brendan CumminsTipperary
2012Brendan CumminsTipperary
2013Brendan CumminsTipperary
2014Brendan CumminsTipperary
2015Brendan CumminsTipperary
2016J. McInerneyClare
2017Tadhg HaranGalway
GAA Poc Fada Hurling Roll of Honour 1961-Present [Reference: 1]


Since 1961 when the All-Ireland Championship was inaugurated there have been 13 counties represented on the Hurling Roll of Honour – Clare, Cork, Down, Galway, Kilkenny, Limerick, Louth, Meath, Offaly, Roscommon, Tipperary, Tyrone, and Waterford.

The great Cork Hurler Ger Cunningham won 7-in-a-row from 1984-1990 and Brendan Cummins of Tipperary won 5-in-a-row from 2011-2015 and 3-in-a-row from 2006-2008, with another title in 2004 setting a record 9 titles. The 3-in-a-row has also been achieved by Finbar O’Neill of Cork from 1966-1968 and Galway’s Michael Shaughnessy in the years 1994-1996.

About GAA Poc Fada

An Poc Fada – ‘the Long Puck’ is a Gaelic Game where players use a Hurley to hit a Sliotar (ball) up the side of a mountain and down the other side in as few pucks or shots as possible.

The sport would have a similar origin to the Scottish Game of Golf. It is mentioned in the myths and legends of Ireland, when Setanta took his Hurley / Hurl and hit his Sliotar all the way from Co Louth to Co. Armagh in one go. The All-Ireland Poc Fada Championships have taken place in the Cooley Mountains in Co. Louth since 1961 in commemoration of the legendary feat.



[1] GAA (2017) – “The Complete Handbook of Gaelic Games – Full GAA Records from 1887 to 2017 Inclusive DBA Publications Limted, Dublin.


[2] GAA Poc Fada Twitter Account (2018) GAA Poc Fada Logo [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 9 June 2018]


Thanks to Tom Dunne, Kilkenny

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 10 November 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Resereved.

Leave a Reply